Our Curriculum

Butterflies is registered with and inspected by Ofsted and our registration number is EY420062. We follow the principles and guidelines set out in the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) framework. The EYFS was created to monitor and assess children’s development from birth to the completion of their first year in Reception.

From September 2012, this EYFS framework has been revised and simplified, placing more focus on children’s learning and with significant emphasis on working in partnership with parents to support children’s learning at home. The Framework offers guidance to Early Years Practitioners on how they should be working with children and their families to promote their child’s learning and development. The revised EYFS sets out your child’s learning journey to prepare them for a successful start and transition to school. Your child will be able to learn and develop new skills and gain knowledge and understanding through 7 areas of Learning and Development.

The first three prime areas usually develop first which are:

1. Communication and Language
2. Physical Development
3. Personal, Social and Emotional Development

As children grow older they will develop these 3 Prime Areas and they will begin to transition into 4 specific areas:

4. Literacy
5. Mathematics
6. Understanding the world
7. Expressive arts and design

At Butterflies we include these 7 areas in all aspects of your child’s development and learning. Our professional team of carers provide excellent teaching and guidance for each child’s learning and development which is kept in your child’s individual learning portfolio. Our nursery environment supports all levels of childcare and development, ensuring that all children are safe and secure at all times. At our setting we welcome and are supportive of all backgrounds and embrace cultural diversities in a fully inclusive environment both indoors and outdoors.